Not sure I understand

Judges 11

29 Then the Spirit of the LORD came upon Jephthah. He crossed Gilead and Manasseh, passed through Mizpah of Gilead, and from there he advanced against the Ammonites. 30 And Jephthah made a vow to the LORD : “If you give the Ammonites into my hands, 31 whatever comes out of the door of my house to meet me when I return in triumph from the Ammonites will be the LORD’s, and I will sacrifice it as a burnt offering.”

I am not sure I understand what would possess someone to say they will give whatever comes out of their house as as burnt offering.  Jephthah had to know it would be someone he cared for.  I know my children are Gods children He has loaned me.  It just seems strange to me.  It was his daughter, his only child and he followed through (which by the way, I also find remarkable).  Sad.  But what a man of faith he must have been to follow through with this.  I wish I could even say I would do this…I know I would struggle more than anything against this one.  

No comments yet

Leave a comment